AVISO: A partir del 21 de julio 2021 habrá hasta 5 días de cuarenta al ingresar a Paraguay.


Official Name The Republic of Paraguay / Tetã Paraguái
President H.E. Mario ABDO BENÍTEZ
Vice-President H.E. Hugo Adalberto VELÁZQUEZ MORENO
Day of Independence May 14th and 15th of 1811
Capital Asunción
Total Area 406.752 km²
Territorial Organization 17 Departments and 1 Capital
Official Languages Spanish and Guarani
Population 6,854,536 inhabitants (2016)
Currency Guarani (PYG)
Gross Domestic Product (GDP) 27,384 millions USD (2016)
Inflation 3.9% (2016)
GDP Growth Rate 4.1% (2016)
Exports Soy, corn, wheat, sesame, sunflower oil, sugar, beef


Paraguay covers an area of 406.752 km² and is divided into two distinct natural regions: the West Region and the East Region, each of which has its own particular features. The entire territory is divided into 17 departments and a capital district. The country shares borders with Argentina, Brazil, and Bolivia.

Asunción, the capital city of Paraguay

Although Paraguay lacks maritime access, the territory is crossed by numerous flows of water, which make up the vital hydrographic network of the Cuenta del Plata, in addition to the Acuifero Guarani, the latter of which is considered one of the largest freshwater reserves on the planet.

Asunción, with approximately 520,000 inhabitants, offers the profile of a cosmopolitan city with its wide tree-lined avenues, full of flowers and blossoms from each season of the year. Asunción also possesses an infrastructure of hotels, shopping malls, cinemas, and theatres. Other important cities from around the country include Encarnación, Ciudad del Este, and Pedro Juan Caballero.


1524 Arrival of the explorers Alejo García and Sebastián Gaboto to Paraguay
1537 Founding of Asunción City
1811 Independence of the Republic of Paraguay
1864 – 1870 The War of the Triple Alliance (against Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay)
1889 Founding of the National University of Asunción
1919 Beginning of diplomatic relations between Paraguay and Japan
1932 – 1935 The Chaco War (against Bolivia)
1936 Start of Japanese immigration to Paraguay
1947 Civil War
1954 – 1989 Dictatorship of General Alfredo Stroessner
1989 Establishment of the 1992 Constitution, a democratic system of government