Diplomatic Relations

Diplomatic relations between Paraguay and Japan began on November 17, 1919, with the signing of a bilateral trade agreement between both countries. Three years later, through Decree No. 14886/1922, the first Paraguayan Consulate was created in Tokyo; however, it was not until November 19, 1956, that Paraguay had its first Ambassador assigned to Japan, Mr. Nicolás de Bari Flecha Torres, who served until July 25, 1961.

For a long time, one of the principal themes of the bilateral relationship was the Japanese immigration to Paraguay, which began in 1936 with the establishment of the colony La Colmena in the Department of Paraguarí. Later, other colonies were created, such as the colonies in La Paz, Pirapó, Ygauzú, and Pedro Juan Caballero, in the Departments of Itapúa, Alto Paraná and Amambay. On July 22, 1959, both governments signed the Immigration Agreement with the objective of facilitating Japanese immigration to Paraguay while maintaining reciprocal benefits for both countries.

Currently, the Official Development Assistance (ODA), which Japan offers to Paraguay; the increasing commercial exchange; and the tourism flow between both countries are other important elements of the present bilateral relations.

Former Ambassadors of Paraguay to Japan

1. Eng. Nicolás de Bari FLECHAS TORRES (19/11/1956 to 25/07/1961)
2. Dr. Desiderio Melanio ENCISO (04/04/1972 to 17/12/1976)
3. Dr. Marcos MARTÍNEZ MENDIETA (28/02/1977 to 09/01/1984)
4. Mr. Juan Carlos HRASE VON BARGEN (08/10/1984 to 18/07/1989)
5. Dr. Fernando B. COSTANTINI (31/01/1990 to 14/01/1993)
6. Dr. Federico MANDELBURGER (27/05/1993 to 1997)
7. Mr. Miguel Ángel SOLANO LÓPEZ CASCO (28/04/1997 to 27/01/2004)
8. Mr. Isao TAOKA (14/09/2004 to 14/09/2009)
9. Mr. Naoyuki TOYOTOSHI (8/12/2009 – current day)